List of Countries in European Union & Status of their Memberships

Countries and flags of European Union

Many people want to know about List of Countries in European Union & Status of their Memberships,  as this is an important question in all types of examinations.

List of Countries in European Union

The “Birthday” of the European Union is considered May 9, 1950. Annually, May 9 is celebrated as Europe Day. When European countries started to cooperate economically in 1951, only Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands participated. Over time, more and more countries decided to join. The Union reached its current size of 28 member countries with the accession of Croatia on 1 July 2013.

flags of european union png
countries and flags of European Union
  • Austria (1995)
  • Belgium (1958)
  • Bulgaria (2007)
  • Croatia (2013)
  • Cyprus (2004)
  • Czech Republic (2004)
  • Denmark (1973)
  • Estonia (2004)
  • Finland (1995)
  • France (1958)
  • Germany (1958)
  • Greece (1981)
  • Hungary (2004)
  • Ireland (1973)
  • Italy (1958)
  • Latvia (2004)
  • Lithuania (2004)
  • Luxembourg (1958)
  • Malta (2004)
  • Netherlands (1958)
  • Poland (2004)
  • Portugal (1986)
  • Romania (2007)
  • Slovakia (2004)
  • Slovenia (2004)
  • Spain (1986)
  • Sweden (1995)
  • United Kingdom (1973)

European Economic Community

The first agreement establishing the European Economic Community was signed in 1957 between six countries: Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

Denmark, Ireland and the UK are joined in 1973, Greece in 1981, Spain and Portugal in 1986, in subsequent years many other countries have joined the Union. Today the EU consists of 28 member countries.

It is not only an economic union, but the single market with no borders for trade, with the single euro currency used by 19 member states of the Eurozone. Furthermore, it is the political union with own parliament and other institutions. The Schengen Agreement signed in 1985 allows the free movement of citizens without passport controls at border crossings within Schengen Area.

The people of the United Kingdom gave their answer in a June 2016 referendum, shocking the world by voting to leave the bloc they’d joined in 1973. The way many Britons saw it, the EU was expensive, out of touch and a source of uncontrolled immigration. They chose what’s become known as Brexit.

List of EU Countries not Using Euro

Nine countries (Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Poland,Romania, Sweden, and the United Kingdom) are EU members but do not use the euro. Before joining the eurozone, a state must spend two years in the European Exchange Rate Mechanism (ERM II).

اپنا تبصرہ بھیجیں